According to the Quran (9:60) ~ Surah Taubah, there are 8 categories of people who qualify to receive Zakat: Qurân 9: 60 (Surat Taubah)


The alms are only for the poor, the needy and those who collect the funds, and those whose hearts are to be reconciled and to free the captives, and the debtors, and for the cause of Allah, and the wayfarers: a duty imposed by Allah. Allah is knower, wise

The eight Categories of eligible Zakat Recipients follow;

  1. AL-Fuqura : The Poor
  2. AL-Masakin : The Needy
  3. Al-'Amilina'Alayha' : Administrators of Zakat
  4. Al-Mu'allafate-Qulubuhum : Reconciliation of Hearts
  5. Fir-Riqab : For those in Slavery / captivity
  6. Al-Gharimina : Those in Debt
  7. Fi-Sabilillah : In the cause of Allah
  8. Ibnas-Sabil : The Wayfarer